Worcestershire FA awards

Worcestershire FA Annual Awards 2024

A total of 27 awards were presented during the event

On Friday 7th June 2024, nearly 100 members of the local football community attended Worcestershire Football Association's Annual Awards, held at Redditch Borough FC.

A key part of our recognition and reward strategy for the people who make football happen, our team of staff, directors and Council members presented a total of 27 awards during the event.

Photographer Paul Hickey was on hand to capture the evening on film.

The following awards were issued during the evening.

Long Service Awards

Nick Organ - 10 Years of Service to Refereeing

John Roskelly - 25 Years of Service to Refereeing

David Anfield - 40 Years of Service to Refereeing

Mervyn Leggett - 40 Years of Service to Worcestershire FA

Ken Ash - 50 Years of Service to Football

Richard Bate - 50 Years of Service to Football

The FA Grassroots Awards (nominated by the football community)

These awards are nominated by the football community, then judged by a panel of local grassroots volunteers/team members.

Groundsperson of the Year - Derrick Senior (Lea Castle Sports Ground)

Coach of the Year, Male Pathway - Jason Scott-Ford (Ashton 88 Youth U15)

Coach of the Year, Female Pathway - Duncan Palmer (Tenbury United Youth U13 Girls)

Coach of the Year, Disability Pathway - Laura Lillis (Worcestershire Disability FC)

Club of the Year 2022/23 - Kidderminster Lions

Club of the Year – 2023/24 - Tenbury United Youth

League of the Year 2022/23 - Ambassador Evesham Football League

League of the Year 2023/24 - Stourport & District Youth Football League

Young Volunteer of the Year - Grace Gallagher-Kennett (Kidderminster Lions FC)

New Volunteer of the Year - Stuart Byng (Catshill U11 Titans)

Match Official of the Year - Bogdan Negrescu

Lioness Award - Kidderminster Athletic U11 Valkyries Girls

Keeping Football Positive - Tom Calder (Peacock Wanderers FC)

The Bobby Moore Award - John Malanaphy (West Hagley FC)

Recognition Awards

Worcestershire FA's Leadership Team, made up of senior staff members, oversaw the creation of 3 brand new awards for 2024, with nominations again being made by members of the football community.

Welfare Officer Recognition Award

Scarlet Hopcutt (Chaddesley Ravens Youth FC)

Outstanding Contribution to Playing Football

Steve Webb (Pershore Town FC)

Outstanding Contribution to Club Football

Charlie Harris (Fairfield Villa FC)

Colin Waldron (Worcestershire FA)

David Clarkson (Meadow Park FC)

Sue Oliver (Kidderminster Lions FC)

Tony Dearing (Lickhill Colts FC)

Worcestershire FA congratulates all of our winners and nominees. Awards will be back during the 2024/25 season, so look out for information on how you can ensure that local people get the recognition that they deserve.

With a new 4-year strategy soon to be released, we now move into the next exciting period for Worcestershire football and look forward to continuing this work alongside our football community.