Grassroots 18


Worcestershire FA has selected 10 local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018.


The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as The FA and McDonalds Community Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instil The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community.


Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 10 categories. The full list of Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are:



  • Coach of the year: Paul Fletcher
  • Charter Standard club of the year: Kidderminster Lions FC
  • Grounds team of the year: Tim Phillips and Chris Dale – Pershore FC
  • Match Official of the year: Jerry Curtis
  • Supporter of the year: Tony Price – Kingfisher FC
  • Volunteer of the year: Colin Mortiboys
  • Youth volunteer of the year: James Green 



Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game.


"The selection of winners chosen alongside Worcestershire FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."


Nichola Trigg, Chief Executive of Worcestershire FA, said: Worcestershire is incredibly fortunate to have such dedicated volunteers who work tirelessly to support grassroots football and their community. We are delighted to be able to recognise this work and look forward to them joining us in the autumn at our Annual Awards evening.”


On 9 July, The FA’s National Panel will meet to select national winners from the pool of County FA recipients and they will be formally announced at the 2018 FA Community Shield on 5 August.


To learn more about The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018, visit